Black Dagger Brotherhood: Lover Revealed

LOVER REVEALED
by J.R. Ward
Published by Signet Eclipse
March 2007
Book Four: Butch’s Story

In the shadows of the night in Caldwell, New York,
there’s a deadly war raging between vampires and their
slayers. And there exists a secret band of brothers
like no other – six vampire warriors, defenders of their
race. Now, an ally of the Black Dagger Brotherhood
will face the challenge of his life and the evil of the ages.

Butch O’Neal is a fighter by nature. A hard living, ex-homicide cop, he’s the only human ever to be allowed in the inner circle of the Black Dagger Brotherhood. And he wants to go even deeper into the vampire world- to engage in the turf war with the lessers. He’s got nothing to lose. His heart belongs to a female vampire, an aristocratic beauty who’s way out of his league. If he can’t have her, then at least he can fight side by side with the Brothers…

Fate curses him with the very thing he wants. When Butch sacrifices himself to save a civilian vampire from the slayers, he falls prey to the darkest force in the war. Left for dead, found by a miracle, the Brotherhood calls on Marissa to bring him back, though even her love may not be enough to save him…

Source: http://www.jrward.com/bdb/index-books.html#loverrevealed

Lover Revealed, book number four in the BDB series, is about Butch, ex-homicide detective now friend of the brotherhood and Marissa, ex Shellan (mate/wife) to the king and. This was an okay book for me. I was mostly reading  to get information or tidbits on Z and Bella, or Rhage and Mary. But I didn’t completely disregard the book, so don’t worry. I liked the leads, which is about all I can say really. I felt for them, but I didn’t love them. I loved the development between Butch and Vishous, and their new dynamic.

My Review

How many stars: 3

Main Characters: Butch And Marissa were the main characters, in this book. They were both wonderful characters, but it seemed they were on two different wave lengths. They loved hard, but got on the nogging with all the miscommunication.

Story: The story was actually a very nice read. The characters didn’t make me care that much for their romance, but I did love the plot and how things developed. I loved how Butch and Vishous has a new dynamic to their relationship, showing you just how much they are destined to be together. I love how things really did get cleared up, though not a lot of things, so don’t hold your breath.

Would I re-read: Not really. I may skim it again, but I don’t see myself rereading this book.

Improvements: I think there could have been some improvements on the length of time Butch and Marissa spent apart. They misunderstood every single word they spoke to each other, which in turn brought them both into a depressive state. It was so not cool. They got down the fact that they bot were in love with each other, but they spent the most of the book on a rollercoaster–up, down, up….etc.

Topping: This was sloppy placed caramel to me, one where I have to mix everything up for it all to come together and taste good.

Leave a Reply

